How near is far? Post #13

For me, I spend my summers working and manage to fit in one or two splurg-y getaways thanks to flying Southwest.  I may go to Niagara Falls Canada or the Southern states.   There’s never too much wiggle room financially to leave the continent.  Doing so, may I add, is kinda scary.  When I went on a cruise to the Bahamas last year I felt adrift-literally.  I guess I learned that I prefer to vaca to a city, or at least somewhere where I can escape conventionalized organization.  Even in the Bahamas ( an island of relaxation?) a visitor is supposed to relax, but all you can do as a foreigner is shop, “do the beach thing” amidst other foreigners and return to the ship.  To attempt cultural immersion is like an imaginary abstract idea in this situation.

No matter how far you go, I feel like a short amount of time there is just about counterproductive.  At the end of it, you’ve spent money, time and energy solely on logistics and managed to conjure up some photographic memories.  To truly experience a “getaway” I feel like one has to habitually go there.  Actually, what would be ideal is to travel for one’s work.  That way, you actually are part of the goings on and thus immersed in them.  Take Leslie Keiser. According to CNN.com she traveled to Senegal in order to train people on a new system her company designed.  While there she simultaneously picked up some experiential knowledge of the culture there.

Leave a Reply

