Research Blog Entry #2: Narrowing Down the Topic

After receiving commentary from the professor about my topic choices, I’ve decided to go with my first choice, feminism in Saga. I chose this topic solely based on the cover of the comic having a breastfeeding mother on it, which is something new and shocking to many readers with respect to comic book covers.  Looking into volume 1 of this comic itself, I found some very sexualized and borderline offensive content, which would take careful consideration to analyze objectively.  Because of this, I narrowed my topic to focus on the representation and vulnerabilities of feminism of the main female character, since that would mean focusing on her child bearing and breastfeeding.  These thoughts also bring up the issue, where is the line between graphic novel and comic book?  I guess this book I would consider to be a graphic novel, since it is less targeted to the youth which in my mind is the traditional comic book/superhero audience.

Leave a Reply

